2024 Conference PROGRAM

Friday, September 27 Virtual & In-person

1:00 p.m. Moderated Discussion: How did we get here?

Moderator: Adrian Harewood, Carleton University Journalism Professor 

Speakers: Vanessa Fiori (uOttawa Environmental Science graduate); Rolly Montpellier (Below2˚C) 

2:00 p.m. Keynote Address: Fossil Fuel Non-proliferation Treaty
Keynote Speaker: Tzeporah Berman, Chair, Fossil Fuel Non-Proliferation Initiative
4:30 p.m. Reception/Networking

Saturday, September 28 Virtual & In-person

8.30 a.m. Indigenous welcome: Elder Verna MacGregor

9:00 a.m. Panel: Lessons from the Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty

Moderator : Sylvie Lemieux, Group of 78

Speakers: Tariq Rauf, UN Institute for Training and Research; Cara Pike, Climate Access 
10:15 a.m. Break

10:45 a.m. Litigation to Fight Climate Change

Moderator: Susan Tanner 

Speakers: Reid Gomme, Ecojustice; Alex Neufeldt, Youth Litigator 

12:00 p.m. Lunch

1:00 p.m. Keynote: Advocacy at International Conferences
Keynote Speaker: Catherine Abreu, Executive Director, Destination Zero

2: 00 p.m. Panel: Civil Society Circle (Where do we go from here?)
Moderator: Richard Harmston, Former Chair, Group of 78   

Speakers: Robb Barnes, CAPE; Angela Keller-Herzog, CAFES Ottawa; Akash Maharaj, Nature Canada; Julia Levin, Environmental Defence; Lisa Gue, David Suzuki Foundation 

3.00 p.m. Tea and Discussion Circles

4:30p.m. Report back and Conference Closing
5:00 p.m. Reception